Pineapple Upside-Down Cake | Mother’s Day Recipe

I had planned on making her breakfast in bed… but once that idea leaked, mom told me to bake her a pineapple upside-down cake instead. She claims she never makes them because dad doesn’t like them. So whether that’s the case or not, I was determined to exercise my rusty baking skills and try my hand at my first EVER upside-down cake.

I rolled out of bed on that cloudy Saturday morning, tied my hair up, and set to work on collecting the various ingredients needed for such a concoction. After pulling down our old Better Homes and Gardens cookbook and arranging ingredients accordingly it was game on.

Here’s my slightly-altered version of the recipe.

Ingredients:
8oz. of pineapple slices
2 tablespoons butter
½ cup packed brown sugar
1½ cup all-purpose flour
2½ teaspoons baking powder
1/3 cup shortening (Crisco)
¾ granulated sugar
1 egg
1½ teaspoon vanilla
9×1½-inch baking pan (round or square)

Do this:
Drain pineapples; reserve the liquid.

Melt butter in a 9×1½-inch baking pan (I used a square brownie pan).
Stir in brown sugar and 1 tablespoon of the reserved pineapple liquid.
Add water to remaining liquid to make 2/3 cup.
Arrange pineapples in pan.

Combine flour, baking powder, and ¼ teaspoon salt (in a separate bowl from your mixer).

Beat shortening about 30 seconds. Add granulated sugar; beat until combined. Add egg and vanilla; beat 1 minute. Add the dry ingredients and the 2/3 cup pineapple juice/water liquid alternately to beaten mixture, beating after each addition. Spread in pan on top of pineapples.

Bake in a 350° oven for 40 minutes. Cool for 5 minutes. Flip the cake over onto plate or cooling rack.

You can serve this warm and fresh. My mom likes hers chilled in the refrigerator for a few hours.

Serves: 8

Personally, I don’t think it looks too pretty. But it tasted wonderful! Obviously there are probably more delicious versions out there, but I think I did well for my first pineapple upside-down cake. What was most important was that mom enjoyed it. I learned that no one (in the family) was a huge fan of it besides mom, but they happily ate their pieces. 😉 More for mom!

BAKE ON.
COLLEEN

3 thoughts on “Pineapple Upside-Down Cake | Mother’s Day Recipe

Leave a Reply

