White Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies with Himalayan Pink Salt

One of the things I put on my Christmas list this past year was Himalayan Pink Salt. I had first experienced it the previous March at a St. Patrick’s Day pot luck at work. One of my co-workers put together a potato bar and that was one of the toppings he brought. I thought it was the coolest thing.

Fast-forward to March 2015.

I had recently taken an interest in the food blog HONESTLY YUM and was flipping through their recipes. With the urge to bake, I perused the cookies and found one for salted white chocolate chip cookies. Being the improv artist I am, I figured, hey! Why not use my snazzy pink salt and try this recipe? So I did. Now here we are.

I tweaked the HONESTLY YUM recipe a little bit. My cookies came out crumbly- almost like a HobNob biscuit. They were sweet and almost like sugary sand with a salty surprise and a dash of color.

Here’s my version.

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups of wheat flour
1 1/2 teaspoons of baking soda
3/4 teaspoons of baking powder
1/4 teaspoon of salt
1 cup of softened butter (4 tablespoons of the cup, melted)
1/4 cup coconut oil
1 1/4 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 egg
2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
1 cup of rolled oats
1 cup of white chocolate chips
Himalayan Pink Salt
vegetable oil (I had some on hand to help moisten the dough). 

Do this:
Preheat your oven to 375°

Sift: flours, baking soda, baking powder, and salt together. (Add those bran flakes that get caught in the sieve).

Cream butter (softened and melted) and sugars and oil with a mixer. Then add egg and vanilla and mix well. Gradually add dry ingredients to the wet and mix until it’s all blended nicely. Mix in the oats and chocolate chips

(This is where I had to add some vegetable oil to moisten my dough).

Line baking sheets with parchment paper and use a spoon to evenly place cookies. Sprinkle on your salt. (The original recipe calls for sea salt. I use chunks of Himalayan).

Bake around 12 minutes or until edges are gold brown.

IMG_8665

I’ll give them a nickname of sandcastle cookies because they remind me of salty beach air and fragile sandcastles. Dad described these as “an adult cookie.” Foodie friends said something about combining that sweetness with the salt made them fabulous. Personally, I had some issues with the crumbling dough and keeping the cookies together pre-baking. Maybe it was because I substituted with coconut and vegetable oil. But people would have never known the mess I made- because they still tasted great. If I made them again, I’d crush the Himalayan salt up a bit. The chunks were a little too much salt per bite. But overall, they were a hit and this recipe makes a lot!

BAKE ON.
COLLEEN

One thought on “White Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies with Himalayan Pink Salt

Leave a Reply

